I got an email from him and he's claiming he is a missionary right now in West Africa. The offer for rental sounded too good to be true but I was desperate so I gave out a lot of info about myself. Thanks for writing about this scam.
This is an absolute scam. The man claimed to own the house and was "renting" it out but was currently living abroad. His only intention was to have us western union his wife money to secure the property. His fake listing was trulia.com. Beware buyers!
I got an email from him and he's claiming he is a missionary right now in West Africa. The offer for rental sounded too good to be true but I was desperate so I gave out a lot of info about myself. Thanks for writing about this scam.
We have been emailing this guy with this number to rent a house n just now found out it was a scam as well sry u gave him your personal information my gut instinct said call realtor office first thank goodness I did
Well I never actually talked to anyone just emailed. I sent my mom to go look at the house that was supposedly for rent and found out it was not. Whoever this is claimed to be called Brenda Caffery, she was living in Kentucky and was a missionary. Luckily I did not send any money but after confronting her about it and stating she was a scammer she continued to say she was not.
Of course "she" would deny it. But your situation has all the red flags. Never actually talking to someone, woman is out of town and a missionary no less. Yep, she would have gotten the rent money by Western Union or some other untraceable means and picked it up in some foreign country.