I got the same message. Had seen it before. I had clicked on a link in a legitimate website, not on an advertising link. Anyway, fortunately, it was not harmful. I used Crt-Alt-Del to get the Task Manager to pup up and then I closed my browser. Because this was a unexpected termination of Google Chrome, it asked my upon restarting whether I wanted to re-open my browser windows which I did, without see the annoying message again. Best wishes to everyone. Be careful. Many useful or interesting websites have been hijacked with viruses.
I have been getting the same message for about a month after my computer was in for a screen repair. Obviously, this is a scam. I phoned the number from a blocked # at work. When a 'tech' answered he didn't speak English very well but had been trained not to reveal what the name of the company was or where they are located. The area code is for Florida. I'm going to continue to call this # from blocked phones to see if I can find out the name of the 'company' as well as any other information. Updates to follow.
I do like the idea of using the # for junk mail request!
According to show-caller.com: "3059856352 is a Fixed line or Mobile number provided by Priority Paging Inc in Miami, Florida, United States." So I used show-caller to get a full report on that number, and it said Priority Paging Inc is just the carrier, but the number's user is: فيروس which, according to google translate, is Arabic for "virus." That's all it would give me.
I looked this number up because I got the same "error" message, and soon after I exited out of it, I started having adware problems due to a browser hijacker called "SecureSurf," which occasionally opens up random junk tabs on my browsers. I also used Windows Defender, did a full scan of my computer, and it found a Trojan virus rated as "Severe." According to Microsoft: "Rogue:JS/TechBrolo.A is a rogue malware which has the behavior of showing succeeding alerts on your browser (Internet Explorer, Chrome, Opera, FireFox, and others). It misinforms users by claiming that the system is infected or have system errors that need to be fixed. The page recommends to call a technical support number to help remove the malware."
As soon as I removed the Trojan, it appeared again on a second scan, so now I'm taking my computer in to get it properly diagnosed. This is NOT just a fake virus/prank, it is real. Do NOT mess with it.
I got the same message. Had seen it before. I had clicked on a link in a legitimate website, not on an advertising link. Anyway, fortunately, it was not harmful. I used Crt-Alt-Del to get the Task Manager to pup up and then I closed my browser. Because this was a unexpected termination of Google Chrome, it asked my upon restarting whether I wanted to re-open my browser windows which I did, without see the annoying message again. Best wishes to everyone. Be careful. Many useful or interesting websites have been hijacked with viruses.